Welcome to the NCalSBA!

Our primary mission is to provide support to Northern California botanical artists. Recognizing that botanical artists frequently work alone in a discipline which is demanding and technically difficult, we provide such support by sponsoring activities and events for members and for the general public. Members of the NCalSBA also wish to create public awareness and appreciation for historical and contemporary botanical art in the communities of Northern California and seek to educate the public on plant diversity, regional plant ecology and the rationale for preservation of plant species.

We are a regional chapter of the American Society of Botanical Artists (ASBA). Membership in NCalSBA is open to anyone who supports the tradition and contemporary practice of botanical art. Please visit our Join! page for details.

The Northern California Society of Botanical Artists is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization. Donations are tax deductible to the extent permitted by law.

Our Board of Directors

President: Kaye Herbranson
Vice President: Allison Walker
Secretary: Catherine Dellor
Treasurer: Nancy Wheeler Klippert
Parliamentarian: Celia Bakke
Chair, Activities: Liz Stroh-Coughlin
Co-Chairs, Member Communications:
Béatrice Bergamont
Nina Antze
Chair, Web Communications: Deni Manning
Member-at-Large: Judy Paris
Member-at-Large: Betsy Chovanes
Immediate Past President: M. Danny Swanson

Regional Representatives: (North Bay) Bernard Halliwell & Kristin Jakob
(East Bay) Walter Denn
(South Bay) Celia Bakke & Elaine Goldstone
(San Francisco/Peninsula) Ruth Cox & Dorothy Hunter

Advisory Committee: Lee McCaffree, Sally Petru, Catherine Watters